About Quizzes

Secretaries of Transportation

The Department of Transportation was established by an act of Congress on October 15, 1966, the Department's first official day of operation was April 1, 1967. The mission of the department is to serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future. The Secretary of Transportation is the principal adviser to the president in all matters relating to federal transportation programs. The secretary is assisted by the Deputy Secretary in this role. The Office of the Secretary (OST) oversees the formulation of national transportation policy and promotes intermodal transportation. Other responsibilities range from negotiation and implementation of international transportation agreements, assuring the fitness of U.S. airlines, enforcing airline consumer protection regulations, issuance of regulations to prevent alcohol and illegal drug misuse in transportation systems and preparing transportation legislation.

Term of Service
Secretary Home State Administration
1967 - 1969
Alan S. Boyd Florida L.B. Johnson
1969 - 1973
John A. Volpe Massachusetts Nixon
1973 - 1974
Claude S. Brinegar California Nixon
1974 - 1975
1975 - 1977
William T. Coleman Jr. Pennsylvania Ford
1977 - 1979
Brockman Adams Washington Carter
1979 - 1981
Neil E. Goldschmidt Oregon Carter
1981 - 1983
Andrew L. Lewis Jr. Pennsylvania Reagan
1983 - 1987
Elizabeth H. Dole Kansas Reagan
1987 - 1989
James H. Burnley IV Washington, D.C. Reagan
1989 - 1991
Samuel K. Skinner Illinois G.H.W. Bush
1992 - 1993
Andrew H. Card Jr. Massachusetts G.H.W. Bush
1993 - 1997
Federico F. Peña Colorado Clinton
1997 - 2001
Rodney E. Slater Arkansas Clinton
2001 - 2006
Norman Y. Mineta California G.W. Bush
2006 - 2009
Mary E. Peters Arizona G.W. Bush
2009 - 2013
Ray H. LaHood Illinois Obama
2013 - 2017
Anthony Foxx North Carolina Obama
2017 - 2021
Elaine Chao Kentucky Trump
2021 - present
Pete Buttigieg Indiana Biden
See cabinet officers sorted by administration.