About Quizzes

University of Charleston

The University of Charleston is located in the state capital of West Virginia, Charleston, in the midst of magnificent mountains and rivers. It is a private, co-educational, residential university, rooted in the Judeo-Christian tradition of private faith and public service. The university was founded in 1888, by the Southern Methodist denomination as Barboursville Seminary, in Barboursville, West Virginia. In 1889, it became a college and was renamed as Morris Harvey College, in 1901. The college was moved to downtown Charleston in 1935, during the Great Depression and continued there until 1947. During this span, the college saw steady growth because of the merger with Kanawha Junior College and an affiliation with the Mason College of Fine Arts and Music. Morris Harvey College became independent in 1942, and disaffiliated from the denomination as a result of the merger between the Methodist church North and South. Construction of the present campus was started in 1947, on the south bank of the Kanawha River. On December 13, 1978, Morris Harvey College was renamed the University of Charleston. UC offers Baccalaureate, Associate, and Master’s degree programs in various disciplines including nursing, pharmacy, business administration, and interior design. The various divisions in the university campus include the Morris Harvey Division of Arts and Sciences, Herbert Jones Division of Business, and the Bert Bradford Division of Health Sciences. The University of Charleston offers state-of-the-art facilities including the Clay Tower Building, which houses the university's library and is the most technologically advanced facility on campus. Some of the other facilities on campus are the Schoenbaum Library, Riggleman Hall, Geary Student Union, Brotherton Hall, residence halls for men and women, two gymnasiums, an indoor swimming pool, athletic fields, sports medicine clinic, and a boat house.