About Quizzes

University of Mississippi

University of Mississippi, also known as Ole Miss, is a coeducational research university located near Oxford, Mississippi. It is one of the great public universities of the United States. This historic, wooded campus spreads across 1,000 acres and contains about 220 major buildings. The University of Mississippi is a sea-grant institute and space-grant institute and is among the top 30 public U.S. institutions. It serves as a research extensive and doctoral-degree granting university that offers a wide range of educational programs. The University of Mississippi was founded in 1848, chartered by the Mississippi Legislature in 1844. The oldest building on campus is the Lyceum, opened in 1848, which serves as an institutional landmark. Ole Miss was the first public university and the first to offer engineering education in the State of Mississippi. The University’s main campus has nearly nine academic divisions, including the College of Liberal Arts; the schools of Accountancy, Applied Sciences, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Pharmacy and Law; and the Graduate School. The campus also offers education for international students. The main library, J.D. Williams Library, holds some of the main features including the Hall of Mississippi Writers, William Faulkner Room, world-renowned Music/Blues Archive and the national library of the accountancy profession. Ole Miss has a museum that contains a good collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities, Scientific Instruments, Folk Art and American Art. The University Hospital, 256 bedded, in Jackson is the only Level 1 trauma center in the state. It also has a residence facility with over 15 traditional residence halls and two apartment complexes. The University of Mississippi has two branch campuses located at Tupelo, the Advanced Education Center, and the DeSoto Center in Southaven. It also serves as the largest employer in Lafayette County.