About Quizzes

University of Texas

The University of Texas at Austin is the flagship institution of the University of Texas System. The university was established in 1839, when the Congress of the Republic of Texas set aside land for a university in its new state capital, Austin. Initially, the main campus was located on a tract of 40 acres, known as College Hill. Comprising 16 colleges and schools, the university is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The School of Architecture, the McCombs School of Business, the College of Communication, the College of Education, the College of Engineering, the College of Fine Arts, the School of Information, the Jackson School of Geosciences, the School of Law, the LBJ School of Public Affairs, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Natural Sciences, the School of Nursing, the College of Pharmacy, and the School of Social Work, are its academic units. The University of Texas is a major research university with more than 90 research units, including units at the main campus, the J.J. Pickle Research Campus, Marine Science Institute at Port Aransas, McDonald Observatory near Fort Davis, and the Bee Cave Research Center. In the field of international education, the campus maintains a wide range of exchange programs. Certificates, credit towards baccalaureate degrees, and certain master's degrees, as well as high-school diplomas, can be earned through the Continuing and Distance Education programs. The campus offers a wide variety of varsity and intramural sports programs. Nicknamed the "Longhorns," the athletic teams compete in NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) Division I level. Ranked among the country's top-10 research libraries, the library system of the university holds the materials from and about Latin America, art and music collections, most of the University of Texas Library's theater and dance materials, manuscripts, rare books, and photographs, in addition to the materials that support the curriculum. The Middle Eastern collection, map collection, East Asian collection, Ruth Stephan poetry collection, and United Nations documents are included in the special collections at Perry-Castaneda Library, the main library. Additionally, the campus is a home to the Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art, the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, and the Texas Memorial Museum, housing Texas Natural History Collections. The Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art features more than 17,000 works of art from Europe, the United States, and Latin America. Documents relating to President Johnson also are housed in the LBJ Library and Museum.